Help Center
Home
  • Payments & Transfers
  • Disputes & Limitations
  • My Account
  • My Wallet
  • Login & Security
  • Seller Tools

How do I close my PayPal account?

Before you close your PayPal account, remove any money from your PayPal balance.

If there's a chance that you might want to use PayPal in the future, you can keep your account open.

If you notice a payment that you didn’t authorize, please report it right away in the Resolution Center.

To close your account on the web:

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Click Close your account under "Account options."
  3. Click Close Account.

To close your account on the app:

  1. Tap the profile icon.
  2. Tap Close your account.

Once you close your PayPal account, it can’t be reopened.

It’s not possible to close an account with a remaining balance, an account limitation, or other unresolved issues.

Was this article helpful?

More ways to get help

Resolution Center
Fix transaction and account related issues
Community Forum
Join the discussion with PayPal customers
Tax center
Get your 1099-K and other tax info here
Business Help
Get help with using any of our PayPal products
Technical Help
Find out how PayPal works for your business
Contact Us
Contact customer service
How are we doing?
Take our survey

We’ll use cookies to improve and customize your experience if you continue to browse. Is it OK if we also use cookies to show you personalized ads? Learn more and manage your cookies