Help Article

Ask the Community

Find answers or join the conversation in the Community Help Forum.

How do I create, suspend, delete, or update a PayPal powered by Braintree User?

Creating users and roles allows you to manage who can access your Control Panel. You can create different roles that restrict or allow access to certain functionalities.
The PCI security standards council requires that you create a separate user for every person who needs access to the Control Panel. Since each user will have unique login credentials, you can track which user interacted with certain transactions.

For security, we recommend that all users of your Control Panel enable two-factor authentication (2FA).

Creating Users
  1. Log in to the Control Panel.
  2. Navigate to Settings.
  3. Click Users and Roles.
  4. Select New User button.
  5. Specify the new user's email address.
  6. Select the desired Role for this user. You must assign at least one role to each user. If a user has multiple roles, the role with the greatest permissions trumps any others assigned
  7. Choose which Merchant Account ID(s) this user will be able to view and manipulate, as allowed by their Role.  You may also select the All checkbox to allow access to all current Merchant Accounts as well as any Merchant Accounts created in the future.
  8. Click Create User.
Upon completion of these steps, an email will be generated to the specified email address prompting the new user to complete the activation process. The User’s status in the Control Panel will be Pending until a username and password are created. Once created, the status will change to Active.


Editing Users
After a user is created, most information, the assigned Role, and the allowed Merchant Accounts can be updated. Edits to username are not allowed but you can edit the email address associated with a user as long as they still have access to the original email account in order to confirm the update. If the original email account is no longer accessible, a new user will need to be created.
  1. Log in to the Control Panel.
  2. Navigate to Settings.
  3. Click Users and Roles.
  4. Locate the User you wish to update and click Edit.
  5. Make the desired updates.
  6. Click Save.

Deleting or suspending users
If you have the Manage Users permission, you can suspend or delete users. Suspended users can be reactivated; deleted users will be permanently removed.
  1. Log in to the Control Panel.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Users & Roles.
  4. Locate the user you would like to suspend or delete
  5. Under Actions, click Edit.
  6. Click Suspend or Delete.
We’re sorry, the page you’re looking for is no longer available. Please try your search again in our Help Center if you have a question or want to contact us.