Help Article

Help Centre > My Account/Close account > How do I close my PayPal account?

Ask our Business Community

Get started and join the conversation to use PayPal for business in the Headstart Community.

How do I close my PayPal account?

You won’t be able to re-open your PayPal account once it's closed. Any pre-approved payments or incomplete transactions will be cancelled. You'll need to withdraw any balance and resolve any issues or limitation before you can close your account.

Here’s how to close your account:

  1. Go to your Settings ProfileIcon.
  2. Click Close your account under "Account options".
  3. Follow the instructions on the the page.

You can keep your account open if you think you might want to use PayPal in the future. There is no fee to keep your account open and you can use it as often or as little as you wish.

We’re sorry, the page you’re looking for is no longer available. Please try your search again in our Help Centre if you have a question or want to contact us.