What is One Touch and how do I use it?

What is One TouchTM?

One Touch is an optional feature that allows you to skip logging in with your email and password while still keeping your financial info secure. When you use PayPal on your mobile phone, desktop, laptop, or tablet to make purchases, we’ll automatically log you in on that device and browser, so you can breeze through checkout across all eligible merchants. 

As long as you actively use One Touch, we'll renew your "turned on" setting on that device, so you can skip login at checkout. To help you manage One Touch across your devices, we’ll turn it off automatically if you haven’t used it in a while. You can also turn off One Touch at any time in Settings.

Why should I activate the service?

Activating One Touch takes you directly to the payment page and breeze through check out. It also saves you the hassle of entering your password. For security purposes, whenever you update your PayPal personal or financial account information we’ll always ask you to log in.


How does PayPal help protect my financial account information when using One Touch?

PayPal does not share full payment information with merchants when you shop.


There are security recommendations PayPal has specifically for One Touch:

  • You have to be using the same device and browser combination to use One Touch. If you try to update your personal information, you’ll be prompted to log in again.
  • The functionality is limited. For example, you can currently make payments, but you can’t withdraw money, or access your PayPal settings from the PayPal payment screen. This helps prevent those who may get access to this device from accessing sensitive information.
Do not share your device if you’re using One Touch. If your device is lost or stolen, contact us immediately and log out of your PayPal account. You can also log in to your PayPal account and change your security settings.


What if I am using a public computer?

Please only activate One Touch on your personal device or computer and not on a public or shared computer or device to avoid misuse of your PayPal account.


Do I still authenticate and register for all individual merchants?

You only need to authenticate and authorize the use of One Touch once per device or browser. When you activate the functionality with one merchant, you do so with every eligible merchant.


How do I activate the One Touch feature?

Select "Stay logged in for faster purchases" when checking out with PayPal upon initial log in. This activates One Touch for that specific device and browser and for all eligible merchants. You can also go to www.paypal.com/onetouch to activate the service.


How do I turn off the One Touch feature?

To turn this feature off, follow the steps below:
  1. Click the Settings icon next to "Log out."
  2. Click Security.
  3. Click Edit next to "Stay logged in for faster purchases."
  4. Click Log out per device or Turn off One Touch on all devices.

Other alternative methods to turn off One Touch are:
  • Calling PayPal customer service.
  • Clearing cookies.
  • Changing your password automatically revokes consent.
  • PayPal can force ‘Show Login’ for suspicious activity/account or if a transaction bears higher risk.
https://www.paypal.com/signin?expId=oneTouchOptOut


What does PayPal do to help if I have a problem with my online purchase?

When you pay with PayPal online, PayPal Buyer Protection won’t be impacted by this functionality and will continue to apply your eligible purchases.

To learn more about PayPal Buyer Protection and to see a full list of eligibility requirements and exclusions, please review our User Agreement. You’ll find the User Agreement by clicking Legal or Legal Agreements on any PayPal page.

You can report your problem in our Resolution Center.


Can I select specific merchants to use One Touch?

You can’t control the merchants you opt-in for. Opting in for One Touch activates the feature for all eligible merchants.


What happens if I am shopping on a mobile device or computer logged into One Touch that is not mine?

If you’re shopping from a mobile device that is not your own, simply click the ‘Not Me’ link to log out of PayPal and log back in using your own account. If you attempt to move forward with the purchase using an account that is not yours, you’d be making an unauthorized payment, which is prohibited.

If you do this accidentally, you will, in most cases, not be able to close the purchase. However please contact our customer service team immediately so that we can help the real PayPal account holder and the merchant sort this out.


What if I share my device or desktop with other users?

Please do not share your device if you’re using One Touch or make sure to log out before sharing.