Help Article

Ask the Community

Find answers or join the conversation in the Community Help Forum.

What is One Touch and how do I use it?

What is One TouchTM?

One TouchTM allows you to complete purchases faster while still keeping your financial information secure. When you log into PayPal, with your mobile phone or from a desktop, tablet or laptop you can choose to stay logged-in for easier, faster checkout across all eligible merchants. After you opt-in to staying logged-in to your PayPal account, you’ll skip the PayPal log-in screen on future purchases when paying with PayPal using the same device and same browser.


Why should I activate the service?

Activating One TouchTM takes you directly to the payment page and breeze through check out. It also saves you the hassle of entering your password. For security purposes, whenever you update your PayPal personal or financial account information we’ll always ask you to log in.


How does PayPal help protect my financial account information when using One TouchTM?

PayPal does not share full payment information with merchants when you shop.


There are security recommendations PayPal has specifically for One TouchTM:
  • You have to be using the same device and browser combination to use One TouchTM.If you try to update your personal information, you’ll be prompted to log in again.
  • The functionality is limited. For example, you can currently make payments, but you can’t withdraw money, or access your PayPal settings from the PayPal payment screen. This helps prevent those who may get access to this device from accessing sensitive information.
Do not share your device if you’re using One TouchTM, and if your device is stolen, contact us immediately and log out of your PayPal account.


What if my phone is lost or stolen?

If your phone is lost or stolen, log in to your PayPal account and change the security settings under 'Profile'. You can also call Customer Service, so we can help protect your PayPal account from unauthorized use.


What if I am using a public computer?

Please only activate One TouchTM on your personal device or computer and not on a public or shared computer or device to avoid misuse of your PayPal account.


Do I still authenticate and register for all individual merchants?

You only need to authenticate and authorize the use of One TouchTM once per device or browser. When you activate the functionality with one merchant, you do so with every eligible merchant.


How do I activate the service?

Select ‘Stay logged in for faster purchases’ when checking out with PayPal upon initial log-in. This activates One TouchTM for that specific device and browser and for all eligible merchants.


How do I de-activate the feature?

You can de-activate One TouchTM from your PayPal account.  Log in, click Profile, and then click Security. Edit your ‘Stay Logged in for Faster Purchases’ option. Business account users can deactivate by clicking Profile and selecting ‘Log out of all devices’ from the drop down menu.

Other alternative methods to de-activate/revoke One TouchTM are:
  • Calling PayPal customer service.
  • Clearing cookies.
  • Changing your password automatically revokes consent.
  • PayPal can force ‘Show Login’ for suspicious activity/account or if a transaction bears higher risk.

What does PayPal do to help if I have a problem with my online purchase?

When you pay with PayPal online, PayPal Buyer Protection won’t be impacted by this functionality and will continue to apply your eligible purchases.

To learn more about PayPal Buyer Protection and to see a full list of eligibility requirements and exclusions, please review our User Agreement. You’ll find the User Agreement by clicking Legal or Legal Agreements on any PayPal page.

You can report your problem in the PayPal Resolution Centre.


Can I select specific merchants to use One TouchTM?

You can’t control the merchants you opt-in for. Opting in for One TouchTM activates the feature for all eligible merchants.


What happens if I am shopping on a mobile device or computer logged into One TouchTM that is not mine?

If you’re shopping from a mobile device that is not your own, simply click the ‘Not Me’ link to log out of PayPal and log back in using your own account. If you attempt to move forward with the purchase using an account that is not yours, you’d be making an unauthorized payment, which is prohibited.

If you do this accidentally, you will, in most cases, not be able to close the purchase. However please contact our customer service team immediately so that we can help the real PayPal account holder and the merchant sort this out.


What if I share my device or desktop with other users?

Please do not share your device if you’re using One TouchTM or make sure to log-out before sharing.
We’re sorry, the page you’re looking for is no longer available. Please try your search again in our Help Centre if you have a question or want to contact us.