Prohibited Countries

Governing bodies often have regulations and financial sanctions in place that prohibit transactions with certain high-risk countries. In most cases, the processing bank will decline transactions that originate from these countries. In the rare instance that the processing bank authorizes the transaction, the funding bank will prevent it from settling, and Braintree will let you know.

The restricted countries vary depending on the country where your business is domiciled. In the US, you can generally expect that payments will not be accepted from the following countries:

  • Belarus
  • Burma (Myanmar)
  • Cote d'Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Liberia (Former Regime of Charles Taylor)
  • Persons Undermining the Sovereignty of Lebanon or Its Democratic Processes and Institutions
  • North Korea
  • Sierra Leone
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Western Balkans
  • Zimbabwe

Be sure to check government sites, such as the Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) Resources page, for the most up-to-date information.

Still have questions?

Chat with the BigCommerce support team today.