Users & Roles

Creating users and roles allows you to manage who can access your Braintree Control Panel. You can also create different roles that restrict or allow access to certain functionalities. For example, you might have a member of your team that only needs to look at statements but should never be able to manage your disputes queue.

The PCI security standards council requires that you create a separate user for every person who needs access to the Control Panel. Since each user will have unique login credentials, you can track which user interacted with certain transactions.

Creating and editing roles

You must assign at least one role to each user. If a user has multiple roles, the role with the greatest permissions trumps any others assigned. To create or edit a role:

  • Log into the Braintree Control Panel
  • Navigate to Settings > Users and Roles
  • Click Manage Roles ​to see a list of your existing roles
  • Click New to add a new role or Edit ​to alter an existing role

Creating users

  • Log into the Braintree Control Panel
  • Navigate to Settings > Users and Roles > New User
  • Specify the new user's email address
  • Leave API Access unchecked
  • Select the desired role for this user
  • Select All under Merchant Accounts
  • Click Create User

Once you've completed these steps, Braintree will send an email prompting the new user to complete the activation process. Their status in the Control Panel will be Pending until they create a username and password. Once they've done so, their status will change to Active.

Editing users

After you've created a user, you can change most of their information and permissions. While you cannot edit usernames, you can edit the email address associated with a user as long as they still have access to the original email account in order to confirm the update. If they no longer have access to the original email account, you'll need to create a new user. To edit a user:

  • Log into the Braintree Control Panel
  • Navigate to Settings > Users and Roles
  • Locate the user and click Edit
  • Make any desired changes
  • Click Save

Resetting user passwords

Note: The Braintree Control Panel allows 6 failed login attempts before requiring a password reset.

Anyone can reset their password by clicking the Forgot? link on the Braintree sign-in page. Alternatively, users with the Manage Users permission can change passwords in the Control Panel. To change a user's password:

  • Log into the Braintree Control Panel
  • Navigate to Settings > Users and Roles
  • Locate the user and click either the Login, Name, or Email
  • Click Reset Password
  • When prompted, confirm the password reset

New passwords must meet the following criteria:

  • Must be at least 7 characters
  • Must include at least 1 letter and 1 number
  • Cannot be one of the last 4 previously used passwords

Deleting or suspending users

If you have the Manage Users permission, you can suspend or delete users. Suspended users can be reactivated; deleted users will be permanently removed.

  • Log into the Braintree Control Panel
  • Navigate to ​Settings > Users & Roles
  • Locate the user you would like to suspend or delete
  • Under Actions, click Edit > Suspend or Delete

Still have questions?

Chat with the BigCommerce support team today.

1-888-699-8911