How do I close my PayPal account?

You won’t be able to re-open your PayPal account once it's closed. You can keep it open if you may use PayPal in the future. There is no fee to keep your account open and you can use it as often or as little as you wish.

When an account is closed, any pre-approved payments or incomplete transactions will be cancelled. You'll need to withdraw any balance and resolve any issues or limitation before you can close your account. If you have an email address on your account that you haven’t confirmed, please remove it from your account before you close it.

Here's how to close your account:

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Click Close your account under "Account options" and follow the instructions.