PayPal.Me and how it works

Jul 01 2019 | PayPal editorial team

Get a personalised link you can share with anyone to get paid.
Whether it’s for a freelance gig, a small business or your own personal use, PayPal.Me is quicker way for you to get paid. All you need to do is share your personalized PayPal.Me link via an email, a text message, a chat or even your business card and anyone with a PayPal account can pay you.  



What is PayPal.Me 
PayPal.Me is a personalized link that’s connected to your PayPal account. All you need to do is customize a link that’s unique to you or your business and share it to get paid. What this means is you can skip all the hassle of setting up a bank transfer and get paid on the spot while enjoying all the security that comes with PayPal.  

How PayPal.Me works 


Step 1:
Log in to your PayPal Account. 



Step 2:  
Add a logo or picture about yourself/your business.



Step 3:
Create a customized link unique to you.  


Step 4:  
Your PayPal.Me link is done and ready to be shared with your customers. 

And that’s really all there is to it! Now that your personalized link is done, you can just share it with your customers or friends to get paid.  



Don’t have an account? Sign up now. 

 
The contents of this site are provided for informational purposes only. You should always obtain independent, professional accounting, financial, and legal advice before making any business decision.

Frequently asked questions.

What is PayPal.Me?
PayPal.Me is a faster, easier way to get paid through PayPal. Just share your very own PayPal.Me link (paypal.me/YourName) with others, and they can send you money for any reason.


They don’t have to know your email address or mobile phone number, or even have the PayPal app. They can just tap on your link, go to your PayPal.Me, type in the amount, and send the money.

How do I create my own PayPal.Me link?
Just visit
PayPal.Me
to create your link. If you already have a PayPal account, log in and generate your link. If you don't, signup is fast and free.

You can also grab your link from the PayPal.Me Profile section in your account settings.


Is it free to set up?
It sure is! PayPal doesn't charge a fee to open
a PayPal account or set up a PayPal.Me link.

What kind of PayPal account do I need?
PayPal.Me is open to all account types, however business accounts can only accept Goods and Services payments. 

Is PayPal.Me available in my country?
We're adding new regions as fast as we can. Check back often to see if it's available in your country

Can I use PayPal.Me on my mobile device?
Sure! Your PayPal.Me link is available on mobile (iPhone and Android), desktop, and tablet. 

Need more information?
How do I set up my PayPal.me link?
How do I get paid with PayPal.Me?
How do I send money using PayPal.Me?
How do I manage my PayPal.Me link?
How secure is PayPal.Me?
Just follow the PayPal.Me link you’ve been sent or type it in your browser. Type the amount you’d like to send and choose how you’d like to pay. You can send money from your PayPal balance or bank account or choose your preferred debit or credit card. If you don’t have a PayPal account, we’ll help you create one. Signup is fast and free.

Can I cancel a payment?
You only can cancel payments that have a status of "Unclaimed." If the payment is completed, you won’t be able to cancel it yourself since your recipient has already received the money. You can reverse a completed payment by contacting your recipient and asking for a refund.

What is the “PayPal Purchase Protection” checkbox for?
If you’re buying something or paying for a service, check the box to get eligible items covered by PayPal Purchase Protection. Uncheck if you’re sending a friends and family payment (they’re not covered by PayPal Purchase Protection). 

What are the fees for sending money?
It's free to send money to friends and family in the US when you use your PayPal balance or bank account. If you use your credit or debit card, the fee is 2.9% + $0.30. Sending money to pay for goods or service is free. The recipient pays a small fee.
You can manage your information by going to your PayPal.Me link and clicking “My PayPal.Me.”, or go to your account settings and click the PayPal.Me Profile.

I forgot my PayPal.Me link, what should I do?
No problem! Log into PayPal.Me and you’ll see your link. Also, your PayPal.Me link is included in the welcome email we sent when you first signed up.

How can I cancel or delete my PayPal.Me link?
Once you’ve created your PayPal.Me link, you won’t be able to delete it. If you want to hide your PayPal.Me link from the world, log into PayPal.Me, tap or click “Turn Off My Link.” This will prevent people from sending you money. Your PayPal.Me link will still be linked to your PayPal account and won’t be available for others to grab.

What photo will show up on my link? Can I change it?
If you already have a Profile photo saved to your PayPal account, that’s what will show up. If you don’t have a PayPal.com photo or if you want to replace it, you can do that through your PayPal.Me link.
There are two ways to set PayPal as the default payment method. Within the Google Pay app, you can either long press the PayPal card and move it to the top of list of cards, or you can tap the PayPal card and select “Set as default” in the card details screen.