How do I close my PayPal account?

You won’t be able to re-open your PayPal account once it's closed. Any pre-approved payments or incomplete transactions will be cancelled. You'll need to withdraw any balance and resolve any issues or limitation before you can close your account.

Here’s how to close your account:

  1. Go to your Settings.
  2. Click Close your account under "Account options".
  3. Follow the instructions on the page.

You can keep your account open if you think you might want to use PayPal in the future. There is no fee to keep your account open and you can use it as often or as little as you wish.