How do I close my PayPal account?

If something has gone wrong or you're having difficulty with your PayPal account, our Customer Service team are available to help you with any issue.

Before you close your account:

► If you have money in your PayPal account, make sure you transfer it to your bank account.
► Once your balance is zero, don't forget to remove your bank and card details.
► Any pending payment requests will be automatically canceled.

You may close your PayPal account by going to the website on a browser but not via the PayPal app.

To close your account:

  1. Go to your Settings.
  2. Click Close your account at the bottom left.

► It’s not possible to reopen an account once it has been closed but you can sign up for a new account instead.

 

 

Cookies help us customize PayPal for you, and some are necessary to make our site work. Cookies also let us show you personalized offers and promotions, both on and off our site. Of course, you‘re in control. You can manage your cookies anytime.