One TouchTM FAQs

What is One TouchTM?

OneTouchTM is an optional feature that allows you to complete purchases faster while still helping to keep your full financial information more secure. When you log in to PayPal, with your mobile or from a desktop, tablet or laptop you can choose to stay logged in to PayPal for easier, faster checkout across all eligible stores. You’ll skip the PayPal log in screen on future purchases once you’ve opted in to staying logged in when paying with PayPal, using the same device and same browser.

How long do I stay logged in?

We’ll keep you logged in until you tell us not to. If you don’t use a One Touch™ checkout on one of your devices for six months we’ll log you out on it to help keep your account safe.

You can also opt out at any time in your PayPal account.

Why should I activate One TouchTM?

Activating One TouchTM allows you to skip the PayPal log in screen when you shop with PayPal so you land directly on the payment page and breeze through checkout. It also saves the hassle of remembering and entering your password. For security purposes, we’ll always ask you to log in to update your personal or financial information.

How does PayPal help protect my financial information when using One TouchTM?

We’re known for our world-class fraud detection tools, and these same tools are applied to One TouchTM.

    There are security recommendations we have specifically for One TouchTM:
  • You have to be using the same device and browser combination to use One TouchTM.
  • If you try to add a new shipping address or payment type, you’ll be prompted to log in again.
  • One TouchTM is limited for your protection. You can make payments, but you can’t withdraw money or access your settings from the PayPal payment screen. This helps prevent those who may share or use your device from gaining access to sensitive information.
  • You should not share your device if you’re using One TouchTM.

What if my mobile is lost or stolen?

If your mobile’s lost or stolen, log in to your PayPal account and change the security settings under “Profile” or call us so we can help protect your PayPal account from unauthorised use.

What if I am using a public computer?

We recommend activating One TouchTM only on your personal devices and not on a public/shared computer/device to avoid misuse of your PayPal account.

Do I still authenticate and register for all individual, eligible stores?

You only authenticate and authorise use of One TouchTM on the first eligible site or app on that device and browser. If you’re using the same device and browser, you won’t be asked to log in again on any eligible website when shopping with PayPal. If you update your PayPal personal or financial information, we’ll always ask you to log in.

How do I activate One TouchTM?

It’s easy. Tick the “Remember Me” check box when you log in to PayPal to pay. This activates One Touch™ for that device and browser.

How do I de-activate One TouchTM?

You can easily de-activate One TouchTM by turning it off within your PayPal account. Just go to PayPal.com.au Profile, click Security, and then edit your “Stay logged in for faster purchases” option. Business account users can deactivate by clicking the Profile icon and selecting Log out of all devices from the drop down menu.

    Alternatively, you can:
  • Call us
  • Clear your cookies
  • change your password
  • And we'll ask you to log in if we notice suspicious activity on your account.

What does PayPal do to help if I have a problem with my online purchase?

When you pay with PayPal online, PayPal Buyer Protection looks after your eligible purchases if you have a problem. If an item is significantly different to how it was described, or if it doesn’t arrive, we can reimburse you for the full purchase price plus shipping costs. Learn more about Buyer Protection

Can I control which websites I opt in to One TouchTM on?

No, you cannot control the stores you opt in for. Once you’ve enabled One Touch™, you’ll stay logged in on the same device and browser on all eligible websites, unless you turn it off or don’t use it on that device and browser for 6 months.

What happens if I’m shopping on a mobile device or computer logged into One TouchTM that is not mine?

If you’re shopping on a mobile device that is not your own, you can simply click Not Me to log out of PayPal and log in to your own account. If you attempt to move forward with the purchase using an account that’s not yours, you won’t be able to add new shipping or payment information.

What if I share my device or desktop with other users?

We recommend you don’t share your device if you’ve enabled One TouchTM, or make sure you log out before sharing it.